I’m not just impatient today. I’m nervous – heck, I’m downright terrified, and in a slight state of shock.

Last night, with the help of some shiny financing incentives, I finally worked up the balls to buy a beautiful new Mazda 3. I can pick it up at 4:30. I know, intellectually, that I can handle the payments and all that – but no amount of knowledge can fully negate sticker shock. As I was staring down at the down payment check, my stomach started churning. I’d never spent so much money in one shot before in my life.

Later on at home, my heart started pounding. I felt nauseous. What have I done? I’ve never done anything remotely like this before, and I know it’s showing. I don’t think I slept more than an hour last night. I’ve walked around today half dazed, half jumping up and down excited, and half scared shitless, waiting for 4:30.

Tomorrow morning I’m hopping a plane downstate for Kristen’s HS graduation. If I’d bothered to plan this, I could drive her (my old car) down and fly back, but there’s still too much to do. Among other things, I need to get the roof repainted before letting it go. If I’m lucky, the eyeglass place will call today, and I can get my sunglasses too before leaving town – something else I didn’t plan well.

