If my drunken baking experiments are as good as my coworkers tell me, I might just have to become an alcoholic.  Happily for my liver, I’m cynical enough to believe it’s just not worth it. So… about those cupcakes?  They’re a wee bit dense.  I think they need less sugar next time to react with the alcohol (or possibly less alcohol, but that’s less fun).

I took the vanilla cupcake from a few weeks ago and replaced 3 tablespoons for vanilla with about 3 1/2 (or maybe 4?) of this stuff.   That Kajmir is seriously yummy stuff (Disclaimer: I’ve been known to call straight tequila yummy) – it took some serious willpower to save some for baking.

After a day of harassing people with naked, slightly muffiny cupcakes for suggestions, I came to a solution for the topping:  Brandied Peach Frosting.   I made brandied peaches with extra brandy (simmer 2 cups peeled sliced peaches, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 cup of regular brandy in a saucepan for about 10 minutes, then chill) strained out the extra syrup, and mixed 3 tablespoons of it into a batch of plain cream cheese frosting instead of vanilla extract.

I like ’em – but I still think they could benefit from less sugar in everything next time.

