A huge part of what kicked me back into blogging is the number of recipe requests I’ve been getting. Especially as we get closer to the holidays, and as my apartment (which is beautiful and convenient and full of light, and which I love very much otherwise) gets cold enough that I start trying to heat the house with baking. Almost everyone in my life loves peanut butter, so that seems like a good place to start.

Meet my favorite peanut butter cookie! It’s fast, easy, and flourless for my gluten free friends. It’s relatively high protein for a dessert and tastes extra great after a workout. Chocolate chips are options, but we love them.

Since this is such a simple cookie, I recommend getting the best tasting ingredients you can find – because you are absolutely going to taste them.  Use real vanilla extract.  I like natural style peanut butters like Laura Scudders and the fresh stuff from Whole Foods. Smooth peanut butter changes the texture drastically – a more homogenous peanut butter makes these cookies flatter and denser.

For chocolate chips, I usually use Guittard – really dark chocolate for me, or milk chocolate for the guy in my life. Chocolate choice is entirely a matter or preference.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 2 cups chunky peanut butter
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups of chocolate chips (optional, but why wouldn’t you?)

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Mix the peanut butter, sugar, egg, baking soda, and vanilla until combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Use a full-sized ice cream scoop, or create 1 1/2 inch balls of dough. Place each ball of dough at least 2 inches apart – they’ll spread out a lot.

Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until cookies are puffed, golden, and set from the sides.  The tops should look dry and just a bit crackly.  Let cookies cool on the baking sheets for about 5 minutes before moving them.

